Willy Wonka is deeply troubled

“Look at me, I have no family and I am a giant success”

‘Vive Akugha
8 min readJan 22, 2022
Image credit-Screenshot from Willy Wonka on YouTube.

Willy seems to be a very traumatized and hurt person. His employment of the Oompa Loompas from their dangerous homes could be seen as a good thing after their discussion and sealed deal. They get to be around more Cocoa beans which they adore and be safe from the harmful creatures that lived below. This could easily be a lie to tell the visitors but the Oompa Loompa’s seem to be more of his friends that work than just workers. He has one that cuts his hair, one that listens to him as a therapist and he communicates freely with them. It could be said that they became his friends while living in isolation or they are his employed friends.

His life seems sad and the friction with his father is made known to us as he struggles to mention the word ‘parent’. When Charlie asked if he remembered what it was like being a kid, Willy said “Oh boy, Do I” in confirmation but questioned himself saying “Do I?”. During this moment, you witness the sadness flush his face from the previous smile. We are notified by the Narrator (voiced by Geoffrey Holder) that Willy had not thought about his childhood in years which could be the result of him trying to suppress it.

Also, feel free to follow me for my next posts and comment with your opinions.

--

--

‘Vive Akugha

I write on various things: social issues, well-being, cinema and out of curiosity.